Sports: Australia and New Zealand to Jointly Host 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup


The 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup will be jointly held in cities throughout Australia and New Zealland The first 2 matches will be held in Christchurch and Melbourne on 14 February 2015.


Australilan fans supporting the national cricket team Photo Credit: Australia Government Department of Health .


A total of 14 cricket teams will contest the 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup, which is being jointly hosted by Australia and New Zealand.

Matches will be played in Adelaide, Brisbane, Dunedin, Canberra, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth, and Sydney in Australia and in Christchurch, Hamilton Napier, Nelson, and Wellington in New Zealand.

The tournament will start with teams being divided into 2 pools of 7 cricket teams each. They will compete in round-robin style, with a total of 42 matches.

Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesk, England, New Zealand, Scotland, and Sri Lanka will compete in pool A.

India, Ireland, Pakistan, South Africa, United Arab Emirates, West Indies, and Zimbabwee will compete in Pool B.

The top 4 teams in each pool will move on to the knock-out round, which will consist of quater-finals, semi-finals, and the final round.

The semi-finals will be played at Eden Park in Auckland on 24 March 2015 and at the Sydney Cricket Ground on 26 March. The final round will be played at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on 29 March.

Australia has won the ICC Cricket World Cup, having won 4 times. The West Indies and India have both won the ICC Cricket World Cup twice. Pakistan and Sri Lanka have both won the ICC Cricket World Cup once.

The next ICC World Cricket Cup will be held in 2019 in England and Wales.

Return to Main Page

Your Response Wanted!

Have you ever wonderd where the expression, "That isn't cricket" comes from? 

Please post your comment in the Comment Box below or on Facebook at the following link: Accidental Travel Writer on Facebook. And don't forget to LIKE us while you're there!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s