Thailand Reopens Six Provinces to Foreign Tourists

Swimming pool at Marriott Phuket Naiyang. Photo Credit: Accidental Travel Writer.

Thailand reopens six provinces. In fact, it is a three-step programme, and it targets travelers that have been vaccinated against COVID-19. Included are popular destinations such as Chiang Mai, Koh Samui, Krabi, Pattaya, and Phuket,


Thailand has revealed a three-stage roadmap to  reopen six of the country’s provinces.

And these six provinces are home to some of most of Thailand’s most popular travel destinations.

Moreover, links to information on the nearest airports are included.

Chiang Mai

Doi Suthep Temple near Chiang Mai. Photo Credit: Supasit Chantranon.

Chon Buri (Pattaya)

Hotels lining Pattaya Beach. Photo Credit: Llarry James Baylas.


Limestone karsks of Krabi. Photo Credit: Rachael Annabelle.

Phang Nga

Khao Ping Kan is an island in Phang Nga Bay. Because it appeared in the 1974 James Bond movie, “The Man With a Golden Gun,” it is often called James Bond Island.  Photo Credit: Sven Vahaja.


Prompthep Cape, Phuket, Thailand. Photo Credit: Sumit Chinchane.

Surat Thani (Ko Samui)

Koh Samui beach sunset. Photo Credit: Stefan Kunze

As an increasing number of people in Thailand receive COVID-19 vaccinations, the country is taking steps to reopen designated areas to tourism.

In fact, the move for Thailand to reopen these six popular tourist destinations follows hot on the heels of the reduction of quarantine from two weeks to seven days for international travelers that have been vaccinated for COVID-19.

However, a few restrictions will still apply.

Stage One

During stage one (from April through June), vaccinated foreign tourists will be required to undergo quarantine in government-approved hotels or other facilities.

During their first seven nights, vaccinated tourists will be allowed to engage in leisure activities within the premises of their hotels or other approved facilities.

In addition, they will be allowed to engage in outside travel activities within the designated areas.

And after they have completed their first seven nights, they can travel to other parts of the Land of Smiles.

Stage Two

Phuket will be the first travel destination to reopen. In fact,  lift quarantine requirements will be lifted for vaccinated tourists during stage two.

And this step will last from July through September. During this period, travelers will be able to engage in activities within designated areas in Phuket for their first seven days.

Then will be able to visit other parts of Thailand.

However, vaccinated tourist arrivals to the five other tourist destinations will still be required to undergo quarantine for seven nights during this period.

Stage Three 

Between October and December, quarantine requirements will be lifted for the other five travel destinations

As with Phuket,  tourists arriving in these five areas will be restricted to travel activities within these areas within these destinations for seven days.

And then they will be able to visit other parts of Thailand.

Entry Requirements

As Thailand reopens six provinces, arriving tourists must have been vaccinated tourists must be screened for COVID-19.

And this will include RT-PCR tests. In addition, other requirements will include …

  • Valid visa or re-entry permit.
  • Certificate of Entry (COE) issued by the Royal Thai Embassy or Consulate.
  • COVID-19 health insurance policy with a minimum coverage of US$100,000.
  • Confirmation of Alternative State Quarantine (ASQ) hotel booking.
  • Medical certificate with a RT-PCR laboratory result indicating that COVID-19 has not detected. And it must have been issued no more than 72 hours before departure.

Travelers contact a Royal Thai Embassy or Consulate in their own country for more information.

To clarify, inoculated tourists must be fully vaccinated against COVID-19 with a vaccine, approved, and registered with the Ministry of Public Health (MoPH) or approved by the World Health Organisation (WHO), no less than 14 days before the day of their departure.

In addition, they must also be from countries with no mutated strain of SAR-CoV-2 virus as announced and constantly updated by the MoPH.

Acceptable Vaccines  

The following vaccines are accepted as Thailand reopens six provinces (as of 31 March, 2021):

  • ARS-CoV-2 Vaccine (CoronaVac) by Sinovac (two doses needed)
  • AZD1222 by AstraZeneca/Oxford (two doses needed)
  • AZD1222 by SK BIOSCIENCE – AstraZeneca/Oxford (two doses needed)
  • BNT162b2/CORMIRNATY – Tozinameran (INN) by Pfizer/BioNTech (two doses needed)
  • Covishield (ChAdOx1_nCoV19) by the Serum Institute of India (two doses needed)
  • Ad26.COV2.S by the Janssen Pharmaceutical Companies of Johnson & Johnson (one dose needed), mRNA-1273 by Moderna (ywo doses needed).

You Might Also Enjoy …

For More Information …








Leave a Reply